full screen background image

Things to do

People are drawn to this quiet little corner of Yorkshire for many reasons. The Humber Estuary and Spurn Peninsula are renowned as a wildlife habitat A lot of the grassland in the area is owned by conservation bodies such as Yorkshire Wildlife Trust, Natural England, and South Holderness Countryside Society and is managed to encourage wildlife to flourish.

The estuary is a rich source of food for migrating birds in Spring and Autumn, and the prospect of unusual and rare examples draws the birding fraternity in their droves. Being a relatively flat and tranquil area makes walking a real pleasure. It is quite possible to see most of the peninsula from the footpaths and bank tops.

At the very end of Spurn Point is the home of the Humber Lifeboat Station. This is the only full time crew in the country, and until recently the crew’s families lived on the peninsula. The year 2010 was a special one as it marked the 200th anniversary of the lifeboat station at Spurn.

Bird Watching
We have one of the short wave radios used by the Spurn Bird Observatory to report bird movements in the area, it is available for hire at £6 per day, of which £5 goes to Observatory funds.

Migration Festival.
We are delighted to be involved in the Spurn Migration Festival in early September each year. This is organised by the Spurn Bird Observatory and their partners as a celebration of visible migration for which Spurn is famous. As well as organised trips round the area to view migration, there are ringing demonstrations, specialist speakers, art displays, digiscoping lessons and trade stands. There is food available all weekend including a hog roast on Saturday night. During the event, we operate a camp site, with toilet and shower facilities. All Festival details on www.spurnmigfest.com

Information and places of interest in the area:

Local history, poetry and literature www.wilgilsland.co.uk 
Spurn Point, including Tide Tables www.spurnpoint.com 
Nuclear Bunker, Holmpton www.rafholmpton.co.uk 
Withernsea Lighthouse www.withernsealighthouse.co.uk 
Church at Patrington and Hedon- Open 9.30-3.30 daily (Patrington)
“The Deep” Submarium in Hull www.thedeep.co.uk 
Hornsea Freeport Retail Village www.yorkshire-east-coast-unofficial-guide.com 
Museum Quarter, Hull www.hullcc.gov.uk 
Golf Couses at Withernsea and Hornsea www.withernseagolfclub.co.uk  www.hornseagolfclub.co.uk 
Horse Riding at Easington www.spurnpoint.com 
Historic town of Beverley
Hedon Museum www.hedonmuseum.org 
Fort Paull Military Museum www.fortpaull.com 
Hull City Football Club www.hullcityafc.net 
Spurn Bird Observatory www.spurnbirdobservatory.co.uk 
Local History Group S.K.E.A.L.S www.skeals.co.uk 
Local History Group Hidden Holderness www.hidden-holderness.org.uk 
Local Songs www.youtube.com/user/MrAndrewwells 

Changes to the Landscape at Kilnsea.

During December 2013, the area suffered from a Storm Surge which washed away half a mile of the road down to Spurn, and the dunes protecting it, in the area known as the Narrows. This means that access to Spurn itself (though not Kilnsea) is now on foot or bicycle. Although this has made access more difficult, it is a much more rewarding experience as there are far fewer people down there now. The Yorkshire Wildlife Trust run “Spurn Safaris” at weekends with their 4 wheel drive vehicle, to take visitors down the Point, and include entry to the newly refurbished Lighthouse. Booking is essential, tel: 01904 659570, or 01964 650313, or by www.ywt.org.uk